Skechers Shape-Ups

7 Jul

Skechers Shape-Ups, what do they actually Shape Up?

It’s everyone’s dream to do absolutely nothing and yet manage to lose weight. Banking on this exact psychological flaw that as humans we share, Skechers created a shoe specifically designed to tone your butt, thighs, and legs with little to no effort on your part.

I know, I’m a bit late to mention these “hi-tech” creations called Shape-Ups, but I’ve heard a lot about them lately and decided to read up on them a bit. The first time I saw the ads in magazines I just laughed to myself. First of all they are possibly one of the ugliest, least flattering shoes ever made, and secondly I was extremely skeptical.

skechers shape ups ad

For the most part, aside from this year abroad, I spend quite a bit of time at the gym.  I love to exercise, it makes me feel great and I feel a sense of pride when I see the results of my hard work. Well, what Skechers Shape Ups have done is completely throw the idea of a strenuous workout out the window, and bring in these repulsive shoes that basically say “I’m not judging you for being lazy, in fact I encourage you to be lazy, please buy me.”

Needless to say I have never actually tried them and do not intend to, but while researching reviews and people’s thoughts, I came across some very interesting opinions. For the most part people seem happy with the sneakers. They all admit that they are hideous, but they also admit that although feeling sore the next day after wearing them, they haven’t seen any substantial changes in their backside.  What a shocker! They do however notice a change in posture. Yeah I guess to remember to walk straight you need to buy a pair of special sneakers for $110.

skechers shape ups different styles

I found one absolutely hilarious review of the shoes from a blogger that writes about fitness products. My favorite quote: “I also like that when I’m standing still, I can rock back and forth, and rocking onto my heels aligns my spine for that moment, keeping with the theory behind Earthshoes, which feels good. All this extra movement does burn calories, probably akin to fidgeting.” So basically these shoes are great fun but rather useless. That’s what I figured….

Thoughts?

Happy Shopping!

xoxo

~ an American girl in Paris ~

Leave a Reply

