Wide Belt Trend

2 Jun

Large Fashion Belts

Belts are a rather pragmatic fashion accessory.

Not only do they function as a means to hold up your pants, but the variety of colors and sizes available nowadays makes belts the perfect accent to many outfits.

The job of a belt does not end at keeping up your pants, shorts, or skirts. In fact a belt can act as a focal point. It serves to break up the outfit and draw attention to the waist area, and more commonly creating the illusion of a waist.

But be careful, sometimes the last thing we need is to bring more attention to our tummy region. Before you decide to invest in a belt for the sole purpose of using it as a contrasting accessory, decide on the type of belt that fits your body.

If you are petite, try not to stray too far from small to medium accessories. You don’t want to overshadow your small size with a huge belt.

If you’re average height with a long torso, any sized belt would work for the most part.

The issue is really if you have a little extra somethin’ somethin’, a large belt would only work against you and make it appear as though you are larger than you truly are.

Honestly though, there are no real rules for who can wear a belt and the proper ways of doing so. Just experiment with it! That is fashion afterall….

Here’s my outfit choice for the day, I know I’ve been lagging when it comes to posting them…

Those nude tie up espadrilles are the ones I bought in the Marais a few weeks ago. I love them they’re so comfortable!

And there’s my very own oversized belt. I bought it months ago back in Reims at some little boutique, I can’t remember how much it was but I do know that I got in on sale 😀

Check out this belt from tmlewin.com, it was the closest thing I could find to my purple one. I really like the patent material it is made of.

oversized belt with large buckleHappy Shopping!

xoxo

~ an American girl in Paris ~

Leave a Reply

