Who Wears Short Shorts?

19 May

Summer is approaching and so is the proposition to wear shorts. Why is it that such a relatively basic piece of clothing can make or break an outfit? When I was younger I was always very self conscious about wearing shorts. I don’t know, I guess something about seeing skinny models with legs that did not look like mine made me feel as though shorts were just not part of my destiny.

Growing up helped me realize that I don’t have it so bad, and to just love my body for what it is. Having said that, I still don’t wear shorts too often, for my previous reason, but also because the idea of wearing shorts makes me think of the beach and being extremely casual; I normally love to dress up with skirts, dresses and heels, and personally the whole short shorts high heeled shoes look just does not do it for me.

Shockingly I am not the final word in everyday fashion, so shorts are really big this upcoming summer season. Many of today’s runways paired shorts with cute business casual tops and blazers, and you know what, the look actually works. I’ve seen a bunch of different window displays with short shorts and a floral printed top. You know those tops that are just a little too short to be worn as a dress but are too summery to wear with jeans, well there you have it, the perfect reason to grab those mini black shorts out from behind the closet where they have been hiding all winter long and pull off a relatively easy but terribly cute outfit.

What an easy and comfortable look, all it takes is a lightweight, breezy tank, some comfy yet form fitting shorts, colorful sandals, and of course a little bit of bling to top it all off.

Are shorts cramping your style?

Happy Shopping!

xoxo

~ an American girl in Paris ~

Leave a Reply

